Music Monday: Foo Fighters debut album turns 25

Foo Fighters
my CD copy of the debut album by Foo Fighters, released on July 4, 1995

Back in 1993, I worked for a local alternative radio station called X96. No I wasn’t a DJ, but I did computer work for them, had a couple of on air bits I did and spent time getting to know the DJs. In April 1994, Kurt Cobain committed suicide and that hit hard with alternative music fans. I was a big Nirvana fan and almost saw them live in December 1993 [a massive snow storm prevented me from attending]. I wasn’t aware of who Dave Grohl was, other than the drummer for Nirvana.

It wasn’t until July 1995 when I did know who Dave Grohl was and I got a CD of the first Foo Fighters album. Playing that album for the first time blew my mind. This was the side project that the Nirvana drummer was working on.

I played that album to death that year. And the next year. And still to this day, it gets played a lot. Maybe not from start to finish, but it is part of some of my playlists.

Track Listing

  1. “This Is a Call”
  2. “I’ll Stick Around”
  3. “Big Me”
  4. “Alone + Easy Target”
  5. “Good Grief”
  6. “Floaty”
  7. “Weenie Beenie”
  8. “Oh, George”
  9. “For All the Cows”
  10. “X-Static”
  11. “Wattershed”
  12. “Exhausted”

All Dave Grohl

With the exception of one guitar part on the song “X-Static” [performed by Greg Dulli of The Afghan Whigs], Dave Grohl performed each and every instrument on these 12 songs. He spent the better part of 1994 after Nirvana broke up – the death of Kurt Cobain – writing these songs. It was supposed to be a project that helped him move on from Nirvana, which obviously 25 years later, that was successful.

Favorite songs for me are “Alone + Easy Target” “I’ll Stick Around” and “For All the Cows”

This album has stood the test of time and has proven itself to be the start of what might have been the end of a musical career for Dave Grohl. I am so glad he was successful with his music 9 albums later. I’ve seen the band live four times and each time, I cheer and enjoy the music and the energy they put into their songs, including the opening track “This Is a Call” that still gets played at each show.

Any thoughts on this album by anyone? Add them to the comments below.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *