depeche mode violator
The 7th studio album “Violator” released on March 19, 1990

By the time “Violator” came out, I was almost 5 years in to being a Depeche Mode fan, hearing the song “People Are People” on KROQ 106.7 FM while driving on the 405 freeway in Los Angeles on my 22nd birthday on August 6, 1985.

The excitement over a new album had been growing since the end of the 101 concerts from 1988. How could the biggest alternative band in the world top that? “Violator” would be even bigger.

The Wherehouse In Store Signing

While I grew up in Southern California, I was already living in Utah for two years when the infamous in store signing happened at The Beverly Center Wherehouse record store on March 20, 1990. Over 17,000 fans showed up, causing traffic jams and police presence to manage the crowds. Hardly any fans were able to get in to meet the band and get their copies of “Violator” signed.

Track Listing

  1. “World in My Eyes”
  2. “Sweetest Perfection”
  3. “Personal Jesus”
  4. “Halo”
  5. “Waiting for the Night”
  6. “Enjoy the Silence”
  7. “Policy of Truth”
  8. “Blue Dress”
  9. “Clean”

The Entire Album

There is not a single song on this album that is what I would call filler. And back when Martin Gore lead vocal songs were stellar. I really embraced this album when it came out and was excited when tickets went on sale for the Utah date of the World Violation Tour, which the date was originally for July 24, 1990 at Park West, but due to rain, the concert was postponed for the next night at the Salt Palace [and my 3rd time to see them live].

I still have this album on my various digital devices and listen to it often. It has aged very well and none of the songs sound dated in anyway.

So tell me your memories about “Violator” and what the album means to you, especially 30 years later.