Collapse Into Now
Latest, but not quite the best

I’ve been a fan of R.E.M. for years, even blogging about my favorite album of theirs. All of their works have produced some great hits, wonderful musical moments and charming vocals and guitars. 2008’s “Accelerate” brought them back into those familiar with their classic sound. So it was with anticipation that their 15th album “Collapse Into Now” would garner some attention.

Track listing:

  1. “Discoverer”
  2. “All the Best”
  3. “Ɯberlin”
  4. “Oh My Heart”
  5. “It Happened Today”
  6. “Every Day Is Yours to Win”
  7. “Mine Smell Like Honey”
  8. “Walk It Back”
  9. “Alligator_Aviator_Autopilot_Antimatter”
  10. “That Someone Is You”
  11. “Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando and I”
  12. “Blue”

I’ve played this album several times since I picked it up. Songs like the lead single “Oh My Heart” are calm, yet gripping, reminding me of classic R.E.M. songs of albums past. Then you track down to the curiously titled “Mine Smell Like Honey” which brings guitars and speedy vocals into a catchy tune. Then that’s followed up quickly by a a slower but equally enjoyed guitar-laden “Walk It Back”

And the’ve enlisted some guests on this new record, with the likes of Peaches on the song “Alligator_Aviator_Autopilot_Antimatter” and Eddie Vedder adding his familiar, yet subtle vocals to “It Happened Today”

The band is just a three some these days – Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe – but these guys who originally hailed from Athens, GA still know how to put together an album of easy liked songs.

And and while I think “Collapse Into Now” is a great album, I really have to say that their previous album caught onto me much quicker. And maybe with more listens, this will catch on, too. It’s no “Out Of Time” or “Monster” which were heavy on the pop side of things, but if you are a fan, you will find this new release something of a gem.