Sugar Copper Blue
“Copper Blue” the debut album by Sugar – released on September 4, 1992

I was planning to celebrate the 30th anniversary of this album last year, but that has come and gone. So today, we celebrate this great album turning 31.

I knew of Bob Mould mostly from his solo work after his seminal punk band Hüsker Dü broke up. Turns out that I really embraced Bob Mould and his solo work and then along came Sugar. I blogged about my first experience hearing Sugar and the rest is history.

Track Listing

  1. “The Act We Act”
  2. “A Good Idea”
  3. “Changes”
  4. “Helpless”
  5. “Hoover Dam”
  6. “The Slim”
  7. “If I Can’t Change Your Mind”
  8. “Fortune Teller”
  9. “Slick”
  10. “Man on the Moon”

Bob Mould Went Alternative

For the album’s 20th anniversary, I saw Bob play the entire Copper Blue album live, which was a dream.

31 years later, this album holds up so very well. I play it a few times a year and I still love the sound, the guitar, the vocals and appreciate how it was so important in 1992. Sugar lasted about 4 years before they broke up, but this album stand the test of time to be a classic in alternative.